Killing Him Softly…With Black Licorice

****

Anybody else try and off their spouse lately with foodstuffs? No? It’s just me?…Apparently I have been trying to kill my Husband with Black Licorice and I didn’t even know it…

The FDA has announced that Black Licorice could land you in the hospital if you eat to much of it…the candy contains a chemical called “glycyrrhizin” which can cause abnormal heart rhythms, high blood pressure and congestive heart failure.

My hubby LOVES his licorice…and when I mean love, I mean he has it in his zombie apocalypse survival kit, right beside the flashlight and the bowie knife…

I admit I have become his  licorice “pusher”, enabling his licorice addiction by spending hours cruising candy specialty shops to find him the perfect licorice from his youth…you know, those old fashioned candy stores that have aisles lined with big clear bins stacked to the ceiling with rows upon rows of rainbow coloured sugary treats?  Licorice laces, licorice drops, licorice pin wheels and yes licorice babies, I have bought them all.

Right now I’m feeling a little like the Black “Licorice” Widow…

The FDA has some warnings about the candy:

  • – Don’t eat large amounts of black licorice at one time, no matter how old you are. (those over 40 should be most aware)
  • – If you have been eating a lot of black licorice and have an irregular heart rhythm or muscle weakness, stop eating it immediately and contact your healthcare provider.
  • – Black licorice can interact with some medications, herbs and dietary supplements. Consult a health care professional if you have questions about possible interactions with a drug or supplement you take.

BUT the fact is you would have to eat 2 ounces every day for 2 weeks to have any ill effects…that is a whole lot of licorice even for him..

The Magic of Licorice is a site devoted to lover’s of licorice: http://www.licorice.org  and according to them, black licorice also has a good side… it has been used medicinally for hundreds of years and (among other things) can be used as a laxative, can help ease arthritis and sooth ulcers.

Also it’s in Jagermeister. Just sayin.

I get it….When people love black licorice…they LOVE black licorice.

Love it or hate it, just don’t eat to much of it!

https://i2.wp.com/www.fda.gov/ucm/groups/fdagov-public/documents/image/ucm277153.jpg

2 thoughts on “Killing Him Softly…With Black Licorice

    • Really? You should link the story…Man I thought I was safe with the red stuff…I once ate a whole bag to myself LOL

Leave a Reply

